Right Complexion, Wrong Hair Texture

I can’t reiterate enough on how wrong my title for this article is, and it saddens me that in the natural hair community naturals find this to be true. On many boards I have seen where a dark skinned tone curly has type 3 hair , and some comments would state ” that’s not your hair , it’s a weave” or ” I thought dark skinned curlies all has type 4 hair “. What in the world!!? At first I laughed when I first noticed it because I thought they were joking with her due to a relationship they might have. Nooo. I started seeing this all over everywhere. Some actually thought that the lighter the naturalista was , the looser her curl pattern would be. Sad isn’t it?
I hate to break it down for the ones who thought this , but your hair texture has nothing to do with the complexion of your skin. It has everything to do with your genetics and how you take care of the health of your body from the inside out. Bingo! That’s it! You want some nice shiny , poppin curls? Moisturize your hair daily, make sure you seal your ends, and eat healthy which includes increasing your water intake.
I don’t want to go too far into this because this will take me off subject.
I’ll say this one last time for the naturals that were honestly confused
your hair texture is not based off your skin complexion.
I hope this reaches someone and give them a better understanding. If you have any questions or want to add comments please do below.

*I am not a professional and these thoughts shouldn’t base how you feel or take care of your hair. This blog is for entertainment purposes only.

Free

IMG_0038

4 thoughts on “Right Complexion, Wrong Hair Texture

  1. And it is so sad to see this. This goes back far from those “suppressed” ages..but i do see it and call it out. Learning is very fundamental. Thanks for touching on this topic.

Leave a Reply

