Aubrey Organics Review By Peamy

 

Image

Aubrey Organics Swimmer’s Normalizing Shampoo and Conditioner had always been my go to products when I worked out at the gym in my perm days.  Even though it says swimmers shampoo, you can use it when you have sweated through your hair from that hard gym session. My hair loved the product then, but would it love my hair now that it was in its natural state? Well, since I became a natural years ago, I was weary of using it. What if I didn’t work as it did when I had a perm?

This past July I decided to give Aubrey Swimmer’s another try. I took both the conditioner and shampoo with me on vacation.  I was a little bit worried because I knew I should have tried using them before I went away. After spending the second day swimming at the pool, I washed my hair that night. I prepped my hair by rubbing in coconut oil and letting it sit for thirty minutes. I then decided to experiment by not shampooing it, I decided to co wash instead. So I co wash with the Swimmers Conditioner. I let the conditioner sit in my hair for thirty minutes and I then rinsed it out under the shower. Ladies my hair was brittle as straw and dry when stepped out the shower. There wasn’t any moisture in my strands at all. Yes, I was almost in tears. For the rest of the vacation, I used Vo5 shampoo and conditioner that I purchased at CVS.  When I came back home, I threw my Aubrey’s in the back of my cabinet. I chalked it up to that this product did not like my beautiful natural hair.

Now let’s fast forward to yesterday and the lovely day at the beach.  While swimming, laying out on the sand and going for a three mile walk, my hair was screaming “sun damage”.  In the back of mind I realized that I did not have any specialized shampoo in my stash for a beach day. Then I remembered my Aubrey Organic in the back of my cabinet, dare I revisit this product a second time? The answer was yes.  I remembered that I never used the Swimmer’s shampoo while on my vacation, I had only co washed with the conditioner… When I arrived home, I jumped in the shower and shampooed my hair. I didn’t add any coconut oil or other products to my hair. After I rinsed out the shampoo I put the conditioner in and took a relaxing shower. After the conditioner was rinsed out, I wrapped my hair in a t-shirt and piddled around the house. When I finally took the t-shirt off my hair I was in shock. My hair felt like butter and my curls were popping. This product didn’t fail me after all. My hair was so moisturized and soft, and it smelled so good.

I then realize that the conditioner and shampoo should be used together to get the great effect. Also, I am dealing with chlorine and sea salt, two strong enemies to all types of hair. The Swimmer’s conditioner can be used to deep condition the hair, but after it’s rinsed out you should shampoo and condition.  I also decided not to add any other products, especially coconut oil to my hair while using the Swimmers shampoo and conditioner. Since I am back in the gym full force, I will be defiantly using these two products to get rid of the sweat out of my hair. Two thumbs up for people with natural hair.

Always,

      Peamy

 

Leave a Reply

